Problem with American Audio VLP300 amp and Mackie DFX6 mixer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with American Audio VLP300 amp and Mackie DFX6 mixer

I'm a novice who sets up a sound system in a rented gym for a small private schools basketball games. My question is: I use a Mackie DFX6 mixer and I run 2 mackie powered speakers out of the xlr connections and run 2 more speakers from the unbalanced connections into a American Audio VLP300 amp and then run speaker wires to speakers from that amp. I also connect the monitor mono signal to a crown amp and run a sub woofer off of that. Many times, usually after the VLP300 and the mixer is stored in a somewhat cold room the VLP300 amp will not recognize the mixers signal for a period of time. I can plug a tablet directly into the amps unbalance inputs and it will play then plug the mixer back into the amp and it doesn't. Many times I give up on the VLP300 and just use a back up Audio Source Amp and plug the unbalance signal into the rca connections on it and use it instead. I've also tried switching the input sensitivity switch on the VLP300 and didn't make a difference. Does anybody have any ideas on what is happening and how to overcome it? At this point, my unsophisticated guess it to try to store the VLP300 in a warmer place or maybe the amp is going bad. I don't know? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Problem with American Audio VLP300 amp and Mackie DFX6 mixer