Lightweight 12"/horn combo?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lightweight 12"/horn combo?

I've been asked to put together a PA setup for my Father, who does a lot of live gigs (playing the electric guitar). He has back problems though so has asked for something light weight, decent quality, and yet fairly cheap...

My initial thought was going for a JBL horn and 18sound or faital pro 12" neo woofer, but price wise they're out of his range.

I was thinking a selenium horn/woofer combo, or using the B&C 12HPL64 12".. but I have no experience with any of these brands so I was hoping for a little guidance!

I was going to make the enclosure out of birch or ply to keep the weight down.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    Cheers, Tom

Ask on the BFM forum. BFM has over a dozen plan options, and they're all lightweight and have multiple driver options from inexpensive to high end. They're also the best most complete plans you'll find anywhere.
    http://billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

Not enough info on the B&C is available unfortunately (e.g. no FR or impedance data). Have you looked at the Eminence Deltalite 12"? Very similar specs, and FR data is provided. It is a bit more expensive however. If I was looking to do a lightweight pro audio, I'd probably look at that or it's more expensive Kappalite cousin.
      Brian Steele
      www.diysubwoofers.org

Comment

Originally posted by Sounder View Post
        Ask on the BFM forum. BFM has over a dozen plan options, and they're all lightweight and have multiple driver options from inexpensive to high end. They're also the best most complete plans you'll find anywhere.
        http://billfitzmaurice.info/forum
        ​Wow, 20 posts from "Sounder", and all refer readers to BFM's forum and his designs. I'm guessing you're a BFM fan?
        Brian Steele
        www.diysubwoofers.org

Comment

Originally posted by Brian Steele View Post