Sharing line level signal to a separate PA system wirelessly

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sharing line level signal to a separate PA system wirelessly

I work for a small municipality and they have asked me to look into upgrades for the PA system around the town square. Before we start this discussion, I am aware of the perils of getting involved in this: I'm not a professional sound guy but I'm not a total novice either - I'm actually a water plant operator - I do small PA jobs for some local schools and churches, I build speakers,etc. I have agreed to take a look and give my opinion, though it may not go any farther than that.

The current setup is very basic: From a "sound-room" upstairs in the court house, a Peavey powered mixer is connected to 4 Peavey molded-enclosure- I think they're PR series- speakers that are flown from under the eaves of the building on each corner. Current usage is for background music at Christmas and limited use of a microphone or two for announcements. The current system is roughly 20 years old and has worked reasonably well, except that intelligibility is not very good when using the microphones, and the sound being transmitted to the building annoys the occupants of the offices inside during business hours. They would like to update the system to reduce the sound levels that are heard inside the building, and they also want provide better sound coverage to a small park on the perimeter of the square that is 100-150 feet away. Running speaker wire across the street is not going to be possible.