Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Troubleshooting Behringer Eurolive B215d PA speaker

Hi Everyone,

I volunteered to tear apart a Behringer B215d Active PA speaker that my gym uses for workout music and instructor microphones. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, so the finer points of PCBs and circuit tracing still elude me. I got the amplifier and power supply out of the cabinet and I'm pretty sure the power supply section is OK. The fuse is fine, and I get 120VAC between the leads going to the amplifer board from the power supply. I haven't ripped it apart further to start poking and prodding at all the other parts on the amplifer board, but I know I'll get confused quickly since I've never tried to troubleshoot IC chips, MOSFETs, or anything more complex than some resistors and capacitors.

The only thing that sticks out to me visually is this piece... It seems like this is another style of capacitor or small inductor? It looks like it may have taken some thermal damage compared to the neighboring component that looks identical (except for the fancy colors that I associate with metal annealing). If anyone's got any advice, that'd be great! If not, no worries... There's already a new PA speaker being ordered, I'm doing this for fun and to maybe score a backup speaker should something else happen.

Thanks in advance!

Click image for larger version

Name:	20180104_213127-1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	216.2 KB
ID:	1358690

Voxel Down Firing with Dayton SA70
    Translam Subwoofers - The Jedi Mind Tricks
    The Super Bees - Garage 2 way
    SevenSixTwo - InDIYana 2018 Coax

It may be a cap, but impossible to say for sure from the end view.
    www.billfitzmaurice.com
    www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

Originally posted by billfitzmaurice View Post
      It may be a cap, but impossible to say for sure from the end view.