Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elder Bluetooth Speaker Build

Hi Guys

This is my attempt at a speaker design from Kirby Meets Audio. Its his Elder design that i added my own twist to.
    All of the electronic components are as per the KMA plans including crossover design so i can not take any credit for that.

Its my first attempt at a speaker build and i am HOOKED!

I can see me being regular here to learn as much as i can about speaker design principles.

Main box is made from Select Pine, stained black, burnished with steel wool and then clear coated with wipe on poly.
    Front panel and rear panel is made from Red Oak and dyed red with Keda Dye and then clear coated with polycrylic.

Although i am happy with the way it sounds its not quite as loud as i had hoped, is this limited by the Amp or by the components themselves?
    I have the on board volume maxed out and the the volume on my cellphone maxed out too. Its pretty loud but not as loud as i had expected.

Drivers are Dayton Audio RS100-4Woofers
    Tweeter is Dayton ND16FA-6 5/8 Tweeter
    BT Amp is Wondom AA-AC11161 2x30W 4-8 Ohm Class D

Anyway, let me know what you think

The original design Elder from KMA

What is your power source and what is the voltage?
    "A dirty shop is an unsafe shop, if you injure yourself in a clean shop you are just stupid" - Coach Kupchinsky

The Madeleine
    The Roxster
    Swopes 5.0
    Acoustic Panels
    Living Room Make Over

Comment

Wow, you knocked that thing out of the park! How did you apply the ripples around the woofers, very cool looking.
      My "No-Name" CC Speaker
      Kerry's "Silverbacks"
      Ben's Synchaeta's for Mom
      The Archers
      Rick's "db" Desktop CBT Arrays
      The Gandalf's

Comment

Originally posted by BorneoBen View Post
        Anyway, let me know what you think
        ​Wow--very nice effect with those ripples in the oak. Looks great--totally outclasses the original version.