First home sub build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First home sub build

I have been building subs for my cars for over 25 years now and thought it was about time I made one for the house. Just a simple and inexpensive build using a Dayton SD215 sub and a SA25 plate amp. I don't need big bass as I live in a townhouse and if I really need a loud bass fix I just go for a drive in the car. Box is just a bit over 1 cf with a 3x12" port which tunes it to 36hz if I remember correctly. Simple build with one brace in the middle and a 1.5" thick baffle with the outer half made from BB and some leftover Tamarind strips.

New saw is great at making mitre cuts!

First baffle layer glued and nailed in, then glued on second layer.

A couple coats of poly and she's looking nice and pretty!

I had it playing in the garage for a few days while I was testing out some other speakers and it was plenty loud down there. I was going to get it hooked up in the living room tonight but it got late and the wife went to bed so maybe tomorrow it will make some noise

See my projects on Instagram and Facebook

Beautiful Derek! You do some really nice work and the combination of the BB and Tamarind is spectacular looking, great choice.
    My "No-Name" CC Speaker
    Kerry's "Silverbacks"
    Ben's Synchaeta's for Mom
    The Archers
    Rick's "db" Desktop CBT Arrays
    The Gandalf's

Comment

Nice looking subwoofer, hope you don't hide it in a corner...nobody will get to see how nice it is! Come back and tell us your thoughts after a good long listening session. I would think it would fill in the lower octaves very nicely.
      Paul

The "SB's" build page
      http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...-4-(pic-heavy)

Comment

Very nice driver-end aesthetics!
        Wolf
        "Wolf, you shall now be known as "King of the Zip ties." -Pete00t
        "Wolf and speakers equivalent to Picasso and 'Blue'" -dantheman