Dr Pepper Boombox

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr Pepper Boombox

Inspired by the Sprite, I set out to make a boombox with the 4 ohm version of the Aura NS-3, aka the Dayton ND90-4. The $5 sale on the ND16FA-6 made the choice of tweeters easy. They're crossed high (8k) just to add some sparkle.

The box is the knock-down PE 0.23 cubic foot and it's powered by the Dayton KAB amp board. I used the 50w x 2 version, but now after reading the forum, I know better and I'll be using the 30w x 2 version next time due to the issue with the gain. Two of the 18650 3-battery packs are used to give a long playback time. Box is tuned to 55 Hz using the 1.125" x 6" PE ports -- big enough so there's no port noise even at max volume. Port tuning is intentionally boomy at 55 Hz in order to put the boom in boombox.

Crossover pic is attached. Something simple. Good reverse null. Not perfect, but hey, I'm still learning. Box was veneered and then the baffle was painted gloss black. The three LEDs for the amp board are too bright so I'll have to go back and add some resistors to dim them.

Sounds great and it was a fun build. What more can I ask for?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Dr Pepper Boombox1.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	975.2 KB
ID:	1355568

Name:	DrPepper Boombox3.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	693.5 KB
ID:	1355570

Name:	DrPepper Boombox2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	531.7 KB
ID:	1355573

let me know if you need any more detail... or if you have suggestions for improvement!

I'm always willing to learn

Comment

Looks great. I picked up a pair of those tweeters too and am trying to decide how best to use them. Seems like a good fit.

Comment

Thinking outside the box.

That looks like the tip of a fishing pole, and with the soda also sitting there it leaves me thinking outdoors and music .. what about a small ice chest instead of the mdf box?
        http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...khanspires-but
        http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...pico-neo-build