Unnamed micro boombox build powered by USB

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unnamed micro boombox build powered by USB

I've only been building speakers for a few years now so I'm still pretty new to the hobby compared to some of the veterans around here. My main goal was something that I could use as an external speaker for my laptop, and something portable I could use when doing my workout at home when our son is born. I wanted rich full sound in a portable, compact design. Volume wasn't a huge concern, but it needed to be loud enough to enjoy it. Cost must be kept minimal. Parts already on hand were the drivers and amp.

Design notes:

My original plan was to include bluetooth, but after side by side, back to back listening comparisons with an aux cable and my bluetooth module that I thought was pretty good, it was clear that the bluetooth module killed the clarity and depth in the high end. When doing back to back listening, it was more noticeable than I originally thought.

I didn't originally plan for it to be USB powered, but after looking at cheap boost converters on Amazon, I decided to give it a go.