Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

3rutu5 Bookshelf (or monitor/PC speakers?)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3rutu5 Bookshelf (or monitor/PC speakers?)

Guys, not actually sure the proper name so I've been quite broad. After putting the T Lines and Boom box projects side by side I instantly noticed the difference between copying a design online and sizing/tuning an enclosure. Fingers crossed that I follow in the footsteps of the boombox, but in the meantime attached is some progress pictures which I would like to complete this long weekend.

The drivers used are the tectonic TEBM65C20F, which are being up cycled from the TLine, the box itself is 0.17cu.ft and tuned to 58hz. There is a BSC filter of a 2.0mH 18 awg IC and 6.0w resistor in parallel. The unit will be powered by the DTA2 tripath for now (also upcycled from the TLine).

As mentioned previously I'm still learning the audio side of things and have mainly been doing this for the wood working component as sort of a stress release. I have obviously also caught the kerfing bug pretty serverely and like the boom box enjoyed the idea of making the internal with one piece of timber. The ports where recycled from a building site which was a length of electrical conduit, but due to the size being 4/5ths of an inch (or 19-20mm) it was recommended to have twins.
    Attached Files

More progress, sorry photos are back to front...2nd is all glued up ready for a sand and to put the hole in for the driver.
    Attached Files

Comment

How hard is hand sanding in 35 degree days ....almost a wet n dry
      Attached Files

Comment

These should end up looking/being pretty cool.

Comment

Still on the fence with the finishing, just having a clear coat will look out of place where they will be, which leaves the similar look to the T Lines with the black sides and natural in the middle. I don't think staining really work on pine, as in ending up how it was intended

Comment