Triginta Sub 2.1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Triginta Sub 2.1

A while ago I had ordered a Tangband W5-1138SIF for a Voxel sub. This was my first build with a " calculated enclosure ". Before I put everything in an small enclosure with some passive radiators from some old speakers, but don't know what i'm doing. The voxel sub impress me but I don't finish it because I want to make a portable boombox wich have different dimensions. The battery died and the bleutooth has some troubles. Crossovers are the things I'm not good at so I have to built a speaker for use at home with an amp that have a built in crossover. To make it easy but have a good sounding speaker( with W5-1138 ) a came up with this.

​​​The lepai-lp210pa 2.1 with 100 hz highpass filter on the satelite channels. It also have a adjustable lowpass for the subwoofer and a 0.1 channel function for subwoofer only use!

the Dayton nd65-8 fullrange speaker that can play to 80hz without exceeding xmax ( a little 0.3 mm ). Use 2 wired paralel for a 4 ohm load and to handle the excursion and power trow at it. You also can use the Dayton ND91, but it will not going as high in the frequency range. ( don't want to use crossover for tweeter to keep it simple )

A tangband W5-1138sif to reach a F3 of 28,5 ( Triginta Sub means 30 Sub, because it reach 30 hz) with a really flat responce, but in a small box, with less than 25 liter outside.

Ports that I use for the subwoofer and fullrange don't have to be cutt and are flared to reduce port noise.

The amplifier have 60 watt RMS on the sub so I think you can give it 40 watt of clean power.

The sub design was a bit tricky but it fits exactly with enough space between the port and wall and a port that can handle the amount of air that's moving tru it.

Now you have a 2.1 speaker set with good sound, I think for a beginner project that cost about 250$.

The box dimensions

Comment