The Neon's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Neon's

To start off with I am a novice at speaker building. I have been building small desk tops for a couple years from other peoples designs. I was a little hesitant to post a build thread because of all the other great builds here but I really wanted to share these Neon's with you.

I was wanting to build a small boxed speaker for my fishing boat so I contacted Scott Sehlin about designing a small speaker that would fit in the area that I had in my boat and with drivers and parts Scott and I had in our stock pile of parts.

Scott came up with The Neon's

A small cabinet speaker using the Aura NS3 193 8A 3” 8 Ohm driver and Dayton Audio ND16FA 6 5/8” soft dome Neodymium tweeter. Along with cross over and a 1” port the Neon's were born and I went to work constructing them. Scott suggested this box size.....

5” wide x 9” tall x 6” deep with 1/2” material and a 1” x 4” port. Dimensions are external

Drivers are centered horizontally. The center of the tweeter hole is 1” down from the top and the center of the woofer is 4” down from the top.

I started with the port in the front but after listening to them for a couple days I decided to move it to the rear. With the front port location I thought they sounded bright and forward. So in an attempt to spread the sound out and smoother I filled the hole in the front and placed the port in the rear. I thought they sounded smother and was happy with the adjustment.

I used 1/2” MDF for my cabinets. This stuff is easy to work with, inexpensive and after I coat it with sanding sealer, sandable primer and a couple coats of DuraTex they are pretty sturdy cabinets. I find that the sanding sealer transforms this otherwise soft material into a hard durable product.