Amiga Build, Gloss White

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amiga Build, Gloss White

Hello everyone! Several years ago, I built a pair of Overnight Sensations from the knock-down kit that PE offers. I paired them with a Lepai LP-2020TI and was amazed at the sound quality they produced given their small size and low cost. Since then, I told myself that once I had more space / tools I’d build myself another set of speakers.

Fast forward to 2020 and I chose to build a pair of Amigas for my “winter project”. One of the reasons I chose the Amiga is because of the simple (and aesthetically pleasing) enclosure design. I’m a novice when it comes to woodworking and have approached the project as an opportunity to collect and learn new tools / techniques. I’m also curious how nice of a finish I can obtain using rattle can spray paints. I’ve been spending a few hours on this most weekends since early February. Since I've found this site useful, I thought I’d make an account and share my progress with you all.

I purchased the PE Amiga kit with baffles and started with the crossovers first. I basically followed the point-to-point layout found on PE here: https://www.parts-express.com/pedocs...ver-layout.pdf

Click image for larger version  Name:	Crossovers.png Views:	1 Size:	648.0 KB ID:	1467726

I put together a quick model of the enclosure in SolidWorks. All of the major dimensions are to Paul Carmody’s design. I adjusted the locations of the window braces so I could fit the crossovers behind the woofers for easy access. It’s hard to see here, but I went with rabbet and dado joints.

Click image for larger version  Name:	2.PNG Views:	1 Size:	570.2 KB ID:	1467727

Detail of the back panel

Click image for larger version  Name:	3.png Views:	1 Size:	489.2 KB ID:	1467728