Electricians: Help with Wiring 3 Speed Box Fan Switch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electricians: Help with Wiring 3 Speed Box Fan Switch

I am attempting to replace a Lasko box fan 3 speed rotary switch. I was wondering if anyone could help me determine: a) if this switch has the same capabilities as the original, and b) how to wire it up.

I am confused because the replacement switch only has 4 input terminals, while the original has 6. If I need to include a 120v on/off switch into the circuit I have the switch already, and would like wiring instructions, too. Thank you!

The replacement switch pictured below has 2 terminals on each side:

Perhaps the two neutrals (N) were just a pass through on the original switch and the two neutrals can be connected directly without going through the switch. Do you have an ohm meter? I am not an electrician.

Comment

Originally posted by djg View Post
      Perhaps the two neutrals (N) were just a pass through on the original switch and the two neutrals can be connected directly without going through the switch. Do you have an ohm meter? I am not an electrician.
      I do have an ohm meter. Where would the live (L) wire go on the replacement switch?

Comment

L?

Comment

Originally posted by djg View Post
          L?
          I'm not an electrician either so I'm trying to piece together what you meant about connecting the two N's. did you mean the white N and the black/gray N? The bottom line is something needs to be switched because the original rotary switch acts as an on/off as well as a speed changer.

Comment

Your new switch just doesn't include a terminal for the neutral, since its not really needed to be connected to the switch.