Digital vs Analogue...one man's unscientific experiment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digital vs Analogue...one man's unscientific experiment

So my intent is not to start an old fashioned donnybrook on the forum. I know everyone has strong views on this but since I'm new to the world of analogue I thought I would post my impressions now that I've been playing vinyl for about 3 months.

My initial impression was that vinyl was different, not better. But then I recently listened to White Stripes Elephant, an album I know very well and have listened to digitally for years. I was floored. I was hearing things in the music I never had before. So I decided it was time for an A/B comparison.

I flipped between an MP3 file of Elephant and the vinyl and it was night and day. My 3 kids (all under 10) picked it out no problem.

But then I thought, what about a high quality digital comparison like FLAC? I put on Eagles greatest hits and did the A/B. I found this to be a more difficult comparison and very song dependent. In most cases, my ears favored the analogue but it was too close to call on Lyin Eyes.

Then I figured, what the hey, let's try CD. I put on Stevie Ray Vaughn's Tinpan Alley for this comparison. Again, very close but I did find the vinyl had that "warmth" that many people talk about. To me, that is apparent at the very low and very high ends. I found midrange to be fairly comparable.

So not scientific and certainly not comprehensive. Just one guys experience and thought I would share. End of day, I still listen to digital for convenience but really enjoy the vinyl experience.

Carbon
    Carbon13

'bout time for some popcorn 😈
    "Not a Speaker Designer - Not even on the Internet"
    "If the freedom of speech is taken away, then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter."

Comment

I think you may be hearing differences between masterings, and applying those traits as inherent to Digital/Analog.