Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Speedster Build

Hi there,

This is my first time posting on here and my second project started. I am building a pair of the Paul Carmody Speedsters for a friend. So the basic design of the speaker is fairly straight forward however I wanted to get peoples opinion on one particular aspect.

1 - The driver spacing: Would it be detrimental to the sound if I spaced out the drivers just enough so that they were not overlapping? I can't help but feel that leaving them as they are looks a little like a mistake to the uninformed. I will attach a picture with what I Intend to do.

Appreciate any help I can get.

I feel like there was something pertinent about the spacing, but don't recall. Cab looks beautiful.
    Builds - C-Killa - Speedsters - LithMTM - Talking Sticks - Pocket Rockets - Khanspires - Dayton RS Center - RS225/28A - Kairos - Adelphos - SEOS TD12X - Dayton 8 - Needles - 871S - eD6c - Overnight Sensations - Tritrix (ported) - Lineup F4 - Stentorians - The Cheapies - Tub Thumpers - Barbells - Tuba HT - Numerous subwoofers - probably missing a few...... :p

Comment

I am pretty sure that having the drivers this far apart wil cause a chemical reaction that wil make the speaker explode into thousands of pingpong balls, and cause a black hole that will end all existing life.

Fun aside; I really don't know. Would be great if someone could answer this question since I too prefer this baffle layout.

Comment

Is the baffle the same size as the original?
        "Everything is nothing without a high sound quality." (Sure Electronics)

Comment

even went threw his original thread here about the overlap
          http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...ny-2-way/page1