Continuous veneer over sharp edges

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continuous veneer over sharp edges

I've searched the forum, but of course "veneer" brings up a huge amount of hits and after reading a few dozen, I thought it might be best to just ask again.

I've got some experience doing veneer on speaker cabinets, but would like to know the methods for getting an exotic veneer to wrap over a "sharp" edge on, say, a planed 1x4, 4-6 feet long. Can this be done parallel to the grain with a veneer softener or is it just better to cut it into strips and wrap the edges separately? The material is Rosewood, if it matters. I haven't chosen the type. The finish will be a natural stained gloss lacquer.

I will be getting a vacuum press for this job. am looking for the most professional results, not the cheapest. Thanks, everyone.

Usually with real wood veneer even with a softener you don't want to do much less than a 1" radius for wrapping around an edge. WIth a sharp corner you're just going to split your veneer.
    ----------------------------------
    Gear:
    Samsung PN50A650
    Yamaha RX-V2500
    Hafler DH-200
    AC130MKII/BG NEO3PDR Two-Ways
    RS390HF-4 w/ HPSA500

Comment

I'm not sure you could do less than 3 inch radius across the grain (perpendicular). I've done 3/4 inch with the grain (parallel).
      John H

SLS-85, BMR-3L, Mini-TL, BR-2, Titan OB, B452, Udique, Vultus, Latus1, Seriatim, Aperivox,Pencil Tower

Comment

Okay, thank you.

Comment

So veneer each face, then rout a 1/4" by 1/4" rabbet, and put in 1/4" by 1/4" hardwood, maybe even a contrasting color wood. I bet that would look really good.
          It is estimated that one percent of the general population are psychopaths - New Criminologist: Understanding Psychopaths

Comment

Something like this?

Comment