• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Subwoofer upgrade

Hi guys, I built couple years ago a subwoofer using Dayton parts:
    - Dayton Audio RSS390HO-4 15" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm
    - 2cu Cabinet sealed
    - Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

This thing is amazing but still, I would like to upgrade but unsure if switching the driver would make a huge difference? I looked at the RE Audio XXX15-v2-2 15" Cast Frame DVC Subwoofer Driver 2+2 but it doesn't seem to fit the 15.29" hole I have in the cabinet.

Any recommendations? I tried multiple times the software WinISD etc but this is simply not for me. THanks again!

imaya -

I'm not a sub expert, but I've built a few and simmed a few more.
    WinISD can be a bit frustrating - you might try Unibox (requires Excel) for modeling.
    As far as I'm concerned, the PE Ultimax subs are the logical upgrade for what you have now.

Many, many people suggest 2 subs to even out the room response.

Have fun!
    Dayton Audio UM15-22 15" Ultimax DVC Subwoofer 2 ohms Per Coil

I think I hear a difference - wow, it's amazing!" Ethan Winer: audio myths
    "As God is my witness I'll never be without a good pair of speakers!" Scarlett O'Hara

High value, high quality RS150/TB28-537SH bookshelf - TARGAS NLA!
    SB13/Vifa BC25SC06 MTM DCR Galeons-SB13-MTM
    My Voxel min sub Yet-another-Voxel-build

Tangband W6-sub

Comment

Originally posted by imaya View Post
      Hi guys, I built couple years ago a subwoofer using Dayton parts:
      - Dayton Audio RSS390HO-4 15" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm
      - 2cu Cabinet sealed
      - Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

This thing is amazing but still, I would like to upgrade but unsure if switching the driver would make a huge difference? I looked at the RE Audio XXX15-v2-2 15" Cast Frame DVC Subwoofer Driver 2+2 but it doesn't seem to fit the 15.29" hole I have in the cabinet.