Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crossovers and Stero Imaging - Basic Question

Hello all

I've tried looking this up on Google and searching forums, but I haven't really found the answer.

Exactly how does the crossover help with the stereo image, please?

I know what a crossover does, and how stereo works, but as a newbie, I don't understand how they work together.

For example, the recording mixing engineer decide which parts of the music go to each stereo channel. The source, amplifier and crossovers can't change that.

The left and right speaker crossovers then separate the incoming signal for left and right channels into two or three components to go to the speaker drivers, and you get marvellous music.

I've found that my DIY speaker builds give me a better "stereo image" than my older commercial bookshelves, e.g. I can better place individual instruments in the mix when I close my eyes.

So why do some crossovers/speakers "image well", and others apparently not?

Thank you and apologies for such a basic question!

Geoff

That is by no means a basic question. I can't give a good answer, but there is a whole lot of psychoacoustics going on for what we perceive as imaging.

​Things I can think of, but am by no means an expert to expand on:
    ​Our brains rely in the timing of sound hitting our ears for directional perception and therefore imaging. The crossover can affect that somewhat, particularly in phase response and coherency between drivers. The driver offsets can also affect that, as well as the reflections in the listening environment. Dispersion directly affects the amount and range of the reflections, therefore the cabinet design and driver choices can control that a bit as well.
    Electronics engineer, woofer enthusiast, and musician.
    Wogg Music

Comment

Symmetry is very important.

Crossovers contribute by assuring good power response, and minimal difference between channels.