Looking for tips on cabinet finishing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for tips on cabinet finishing

I'm going to be covering my AviaTrix cabs in wilsonart madagascar laminate. I've never used laminate before and was looking for any tips/advice on the process before I get started. I have them sanded down to 100 and 120 grit around the holes. I have some Weldwood original contact cement and a j-roller on the way as well.

I've been curious about this as well. Specifically, can you hit it with a route?
    nothing can stop me now

Comment

Cut the pieces oversize. Cover back, then bottom, sides, top, front, or however you want the edges to show. Get a good laminate trimming bit with a bearing. Practice on scrap.

Weldwood sticks real good, the first time. Support the pieces with sticks while you position them.

That tweeter rebate is very shallow, not sure how I would do that. The laminate looks really nice. Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by djg View Post
        Cut the pieces oversize. Cover back, then bottom, sides, top, front, or however you want the edges to show. Get a good laminate trimming bit with a bearing. Practice on scrap.

Weldwood sticks real good, the first time. Support the pieces with sticks while you position them.

That tweeter rebate is very shallow, not sure how I would do that. The laminate looks really nice. Good luck.
        Thanks for the tips! I've done some searching and read somewhere that I should wait to use the roller after trimming the veneer with the router. It was something to do with cracking the laminate edge? Do you use a roller before or after trimming yourself? I think I'll tackle the tweeter rebate the same as I do for veneer. I've got a Whiteside solid carbide flush bit with no bearing, I ground it down some too. It gets into very shallow recesses. One more question, what should I use to cut the pieces of laminate?
        Last edited by Jeff F.; 09-11-2017, 09:06 AM.

Comment