Help With Crossover Design

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help With Crossover Design

Hey all, I'm a complete noob at crossover design, but I've read enough to know I don't necessarily want to venture out on this alone.

I think the biggest hurdle here will be that there are no response graphs posted for the woofers I'd like to use.

270-180 - Tweeter
    299-2198 - Woofers

I'd like to use these in an MTM configuration, as a HT setup (music too, but not critical listening, just jamming out a bunch of noise). So, 4 sealed standard orientation, and one sealed on its side as the center. Further, I'd consider doing the main L&R as ported towers, whereas the sealed boxes will be hung on the wall. So that would be two ported, two sealed standard orientation and one sealed and toppled. BSC will be tricky as the front baffle will be 12" or so from the wall and the L&R will be very close to the screen (so one side of the baffle will essentially be several feet wide, where as the other side will be 2-3" wider than the woofer.

I've read through this guide and understand enough to get started, but does anyone else have any recommendations or would be willing to supply a quick and dirty crossover? My goal is to keep this in the 'pretty darn cheap' tier and not spend more on crossovers than woofers. http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi...asurement.html
    If that link doesn't go through, it's an "introduction designing crossovers without measurement" page on another forum, which will pop up as the first search result if you are so inclined.

I'd also consider going digital/active amping, as I'd love to be able to make tweaks without buying parts and resoldering, but I'd need recommendations on DSPs that aren't crazy expensive.