Finishing MDF

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing MDF

This is my first time using MDF for a project and have a couple ideas/questions to get opinions on. I am building a set of stentorians (seperate thread coming) and am at the stage where I am ready to prime and paint. I have filled holes with filler and have sanded it all down to 120g. I have read how 50/50 glue and water is a popular choice to start. Has anyone used undiluted glue before? My thoughts are its only $17/gal and it may eliminate the need for multiple coats and reduce any additional swelling that may occur with the 50/50 mix. Once that glue or 50/50 mix has dried, what grit is sufficient to sand to before priming and painting. I assume at least 220. 220 is all i have for my random orbital sander. Anything beyond that would have to be done by hand and i run the risk of leaving visible lines from where my fingers were as i sand. The wife would like them to be painted black. My thoughts would be to use rattle cans for the best finish (aside from an actual spray gun) compared to rolling. Im not looking for piano finish by any means. More or less dont want to be ashamed by them. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

The wood glue is only to seal the MDF, to make it water-resistant (not proof) and the 50/50 ratio is for cost-saving and ease of spreading. Thinning out the glue makes it easier to get a fairly smooth surface with a roller or brush. You could easily use primer (my preference, as it's cheap by the gallon).
    I typically prime (after wood putty or bondo on all the seams) and sand with 120/220 and then go a second coat sanded to 220. Then decide if a 3rd is needed again to atleast 220g.
    Then move to the color stage and do the same process but with at least 3 good coats, first coat sanded to 220, 2nd coat to 400g and any remaining coats.