Lightest Material for Speaker Box

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lightest Material for Speaker Box

Total newbie here. Thinking about building bookshelf speakers but want to keep the weight as low as possible. Any problem using 1/4" plywood with braced corners? Woofer size is approx. 5-6". Internal volume approx. 0.6 cu.ft..
    Last edited by crymar; 10-30-2017, 08:45 AM. Reason: Edited for clarity.

It will be a trade-off, in that you will have cabinets resonances (unless you use a lot of braces) due to the rigidity of 1/4" stock. But if you're ok with that, or brace enough (2 side-to-side and one top-to-bottom and front-to-back at least) that it doesn't interfere with your design, you can absolutely use whatever cabinet material you want to meet your weight goals.

You might get more answers if you post in the "Tech Talk" section - this forum is for finished design/pics posting.
    Paul

The "SB's" build page
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...-4-(pic-heavy)

Comment

1/4" plywood is a bit too thin, unless the panels are very well braced. You wouldn't brace the corners in any event, that's where the cabinet is inherently the strongest.
      You might get more answers if you post in the "Tech Talk" section - this forum is for finished design/pics posting.
      +1.
      www.billfitzmaurice.com
      www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

Originally posted by bullittstang View Post
        It will be a trade-off, in that you will have cabinets resonances (unless you use a lot of braces) due to the rigidity of 1/4" stock. But if you're ok with that, or brace enough (2 side-to-side and one top-to-bottom and front-to-back at least) that it doesn't interfere with your design, you can absolutely use whatever cabinet material you want to meet your weight goals.

Thanks for the response. Will do as advised.

Comment