Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bluetooth speaker build

Hi all,
    I'm new here and am looking for a bit of advice on a first speaker build.
    First up, I'm a cabinet maker by trade so no probs building the housing.
    I would like to build something for the workshop with the following requirements:

Single portable unit.
    Bluetooth and 3.5 jack input
    Portable, so power and rechargeable batteries.
    Usb port to charge phone.
    Budget parts but decent sound.

As its a first build I dont want to spend too much, if I get it right I can always upgrade at a later stage.
    Does the cabinet need to be a certain size?

Looking forward to your input.

James

The cabinet size will be dictated by the woofers' characteristics. Here's a build you can review to get you started.

Comment

Wow that brings back memories! The work bench and wall are so clean. I still have the bare enclosure. It was a great test bed, but I pulled everything out of it and it is in the top of my closet now.
      "A dirty shop is an unsafe shop, if you injure yourself in a clean shop you are just stupid" - Coach Kupchinsky

The Madeleine
      The Roxster
      Swopes 5.0
      Acoustic Panels
      Living Room Make Over

Comment

Originally posted by Gordy View Post
        Wow that brings back memories! The work bench and wall are so clean. I still have the bare enclosure. It was a great test bed, but I pulled everything out of it and it is in the top of my closet now.
        Really is a nice build.
        I'm just putting together a parts list, any chance you guys could look over it?

1/ 2 x 50w amplifier board with bluetooth
        2/ 30w 8 ohm full range drivers
        2/ 10-15w 8 ohm (?) tweeters
        Battery boards and batteries to make 24v (?)
        3.5mm audio socket
        Usb charge point
        19v power pack

Look anything like correct?

Comment