Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beginner how to physically time 3-way speakers with horns ....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner how to physically time 3-way speakers with horns ....

Hey folks , Steve here in Nevada . I'm doing my first speaker build . I'm planning 3-ways with each driver in their own enclosure . I'm no expert , and I don't understand the math one iota , you're dealing with someone who never passed Pre-Algebra . Give me a wrench etc. and I'm in my element .. so far I have the bass cabinet done and it's nice , today I finished cutting the mdf for the mid's/high's enclosures . I am needing my hand held so to speak , I read an article on WIKI about time aligning but it was not about aligning horns with conventional speakers .

Part Two : Let me apologize , a few hours ago the forums page wouldn't let me post without "human verification" ??? Anyway it seems to work now . From what I took away from that article , is that the author seemed to be lining up the drivers by aligning the speakers with a vertical line starting in front of the magnet / at the beginning of the frame and setting the other drivers along that plane . Am I wrong ? Now ,,, confusion # 2 ,,,, what would my "reference" be to alighn my horn with the conventional mid's and bass ? Mire later

Comment

Back in the early days of movie sound, they found out that the exits of LF and HF horns couldn't be physically aligned (or there'd be an "echo" effect), rather they had to essentially align the voice coils. Out of all the problems associated w/3-ways, this probably won't be your biggest one.

Comment

Chris , that sounds ominous , could you elaborate ?

Comment