• Show
Clear All

• Help with Dayton PS220-8 Point Source design

Click image for larger version

Name:	ps220.png
Views:	1
Size:	844.8 KB
ID:	1358031

I'm considering using a pair of the Dayton PS220-8 Point Source full-range drivers in a project. The system would consist roughly of:
    • Vinyl turntable
    • Custom RIAA preamplifier that I built from a kit a few years back
    • Vacuum tube EL34-based single-ended amplifier, ~12-13W x 2 RMS
    • A pair of really efficient speakers, possibly the PS220-8 at 96.5 dB sensitivity
    • No crossovers, DSP, digital compression, nothing. No DAC's or ADC's, just pure unadulterated analog goodness.
    This setup is interesting to me because my other setups are pretty complicated and use MiniDSP's, digital sources, crossovers, Dolby Pro Logic II, and whatnot. I'm a software guy by trade so the full-analog is really a novelty if anything.

While I'm pretty knowledgeable in many areas, speaker box design is not one of them.

My questions are as follows:
    • Would the PS220-8 be a good fit for this application? It seems so, but am I missing any critical details that would make it a poor choice?
    • Are there any existing applications where the PS220's have been run on a low-wattage system in the neighborhood of 1 watt to 15 watts RMS? If so, how did they sound?
    • If so, what is the smallest recommended size and dimensions of a box for the PS220-8's to be mounted in? Ideally, something tower or bookshelf speaker shaped?
    • Any other advice for a speaker box building novice? I'm currently building a pair of C-Notes and I've built car audio subwoofer boxes; that's it. Any help would be appreciated.
    Attached Files

If these aren't too big, you could build the Singularities. Big MLTL box
    http://www.speakerdesignworks.com/Singularity_1.html

Comment

Originally posted by Swerve City View Post
      If these aren't too big, you could build the Singularities.