Go to Router Bits

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Go to Router Bits

I would like to have a basic set of useful router bits. I actually have some now. I am a newbie to routing but after using one this week I started to think that I could do a lot more with it.

I have thought about using a template bit to make multiples of panels instead of trying to cut each one and they end up a mm off or similar. I used a spiral down cut for routing my tweeter recess on baltic birch. That worked great and the edges were very clean. But what else do you guys use?

For background my router is a Milwaukee plunge router.

What bits are a must for you guys?

It all depends on what you plan to do with your router. For basic cabinet building a flush trim bit is a must, the rest are optional. When making bum joints, you can overhang one board a bit and run the flush trim bit down to clean it up. Saves you from having to be super precise with your cuts.

My collection includes spiral down cut, 3/8", 1/2", and 3/4" roundover, big chamfer bit, a cove bit, flush trim bit, and a few others for detail work.

A guide bushing set is also great to have for making templates.
    "I just use off the shelf textbook filters designed for a resistor of 8 ohms with
    exactly a Fc 3K for both drivers, anybody can do it." -Xmax

Comment

I have a rabbeting bit that can do up to 1/2" wide rabbets. Very useful for making cabinets.

Comment

Do not buy cheap bits. Most especially do not buy a large set of cheap bits, as you won't find use for many of them, and the ones you do use will not work well for long, if at all.