Help with powered bluetooth speaker build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with powered bluetooth speaker build

I'm very new to speaker building so I'll apologize now for my lack of knowledge. I got hooked when I fired up my Overnight Sensations (and sat there for 4 hours listening to music) and, if it wasn't so weird, I'd send Paul Carmody one of those big edible arrangement to express my gratitude for how awesome those speaker sound. I then built the Overnight MTM and use it as a center channel with the Overnight Sensations for my home theater. Then I built his Classix IIs for listening to music. Again, amazing.

Anyhow, I would like to build a powered bluetooth speaker based on the Overnight MTM design. I bought the following amplifier (since discontinued):

https://www.parts-express.com/sure-e...tion--320-3519

My question is, this amplifier has stereo output but this will really function as a single speaker. So do i just pick oe of the speaker outputs and go into the MTM crossover design? I feel like this is going to be a bad idea because the music was recorded in stereo for a reason and this is going to lose that. Can you combine the outputs to make it "mono" and take the combined signal into the crossover? Again, I'm probably breaking many audio rules here but would greatly appreciate any help and info!!

Thank you!!!

If you just connect the OSMTM to one channel, you will miss part of the stereo signal. On some tracks if may sound OK, on others It will be obvious something is missing. Some digital amps can be bridged (combining the two channels into one). I have no idea if this is one. Someone with more knowledge will have to chime in. Another option would be go with a pair of the OS TMs rather than a single MTM.

Comment

Originally posted by JimHRB View Post