Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bigger is Better......Or is it? 12" vs 15" vs 18" vs 21" (PA Drivers)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bigger is Better......Or is it? 12" vs 15" vs 18" vs 21" (PA Drivers)

Strictly talking direct radiating, bass reflex cabinets, what are we looking at with the diameter of the speaker? I realize that other figures come into play here, but I have modeled countless 21" speakers and 18" speakers and usually achieved a higher custom amplitude and usually dig deeper than the 21" will. Some people would say that bigger speakers play "slower" than smaller, but I don't buy into any of that.

When designing a PA sub-woofer, I look for a couple of key parameters: Qts, Vas, Sensitivity, Pe, Fs, and xmax. I'm still learning how the other numbers correlate to output and tuning. Ideally I go for the highest sensitivity, highest xmax, lowest Fs, and sub 0.40 Qts. I could be way off here, but that has typically yielded a sub-woofer that will play very low at high output levels in a relatively small ported cabinet.

So back to the diameter or surface area of the driver, where does this come into play? for Example, companies such as Eminence, or B&C make a bunch of different drivers all in the same size. What makes them different from each other when most of the specifications seem the same across the models? I actually contacted eminence and asked which of their 18" drivers would play the lowest an loudest and the one they recommended was 180 degrees backwards from what I would have thought to choose.

I know I'm all over the play here, but is a 21" speaker just a novelty or bragging rights? Any input from people with experience on these subjects would be greatly appreciated. I have successfully built PA sub-woofers that sound good, but have never gone past an 18" speaker. I'm still learning.
    "I don't know everything and do not claim to. I continue to learn and that is what makes me human."