Trimming edge banding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trimming edge banding

I have zero experience using edge banding (or veneers in general) but I have decided to play with it on my current project. I do not have trim router so I am wondering if it is possible to trim with a razor knife with good results? I could use a full size router but with the heft and big base I doubt the result would be satisfactory.

Yes, a razor knife could work. Because the handle being held against the intersecting surface will tilt the blade a bit, I'd temporarily tack on some thin cardboard to the guide side. That will leave the edge banding a little proud. Then you can sand the final bit flush.

A veneer saw is a kind of serrated knife designed to be held flush against the guide surface. I use mine to rough trim veneer, but will work with edge banding. Veneer saws will be more expensive than your razor knife, and require careful sharpening before first use. They work better cutting with the grain like any knife method. I'd still protect the guide surface with some thin paper, etc., then do the final flushing with a sandpaper block.

If you don't have a lot of overhang, you can use a block plane to take down the excess, then sand flush. Be careful with your planing technique or you could nick the guide surface.
    Bill Schneider
    -+-+-+-+-
    www.afterness.com/audio

Comment

IMO, even a small speaker project deserves the best finish possible. In the case, you describe the best is a trim router, which is going to be the most accurate and easiest solution to master. A Harbor Freight trim router is inexpensive and far superior to a razor or exacto knife. The router base, holds the bit perpendicular to the work and sandwiches the veneer which minimizes tear-out and sanding needed.
      If life were fair, Elvis would still be alive today and all the impersonators would be dead.
      ~ Johnny Carson