Working with Corian

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working with Corian

I have been contemplating getting some corain for some baffles. How hard is it to work with? Also, I have not yet looked for it but what thickness is OK and are you able to find scraps that shops sell cheap?

I have seen small pieces of 1/4" thick Corian for sale on ebay. You might be able to get sink cutouts in a thicker material at a decent price from a local counter top installer. Lithophanes are made from Corian and the images are formed by a CNC router. I think that water is sprayed on the cutter as a lubricant when the lithophanes are imaged but I have no hands on experience. Seems like it might be hard to work with..I purchased software for my employer's cnc router from a company named Vectric in England and they had lithophanes on their web page and I was curious.

Comment

Corian machines just like MDF. Just take your time with routers and don't try to cut too much in one pass.

This baffle was cut on a CNC. No lubes, just spinning router bits. This was made by laminating three .5" thick pieces to make a 1.5" deep waveguide.

Normal thickness is .5" but you can also get thinner. I'd not go less than .5" for baffle use, and back it with Baltic ply or good MDF so you have some meat for mounting screws. Click image for larger version

Name:	VonOtto.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	1369857
      R = h/(2*pi*m*c) and don't you forget it! || Periodic Table as redrawn by Marshall Freerks and Ignatius Schumacher || King Crimson Radio

Byzantium Project & Build Thread || MiniByzy Build Thread || 3 x Peerless 850439 HDS 3-way || 8" 2-way - RS28A/B&C8BG51

95% of Climate Models Agree: The Observations Must be Wrong
      "Gravitational systems are the ashes of prior electrical systems.". - Hannes Alfven, Nobel Laureate, Plasma physicist.

Comment

Originally posted by randyohoh View Post