Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First swing @ a big passive 3-way. Input needed.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First swing @ a big passive 3-way. Input needed.

This is my first swing at a big passive 3-way. Not sure about anything at this point so feel free to dive in if you have the inclination. I need the help. I have some experience but this is a pretty big bite for me. I already have some concerns.

First the drivers:

Woofer- Dayton RSS390HF-4
    Mid - Dayton RS150P-8A
    Tweet - Wavecor TW030WA12

I want this project to be sealed.The 390 looks pretty good in 60-70 l sealed with an f3 of around 35hz and an f6 around.28hz It will take plenty of power and the curve looks ok to me up to about 400 hz where I will cross to the mid.

Click image for larger version

Name:	390 TF.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	293.7 KB
ID:	1384183

The 150 mid looks ok for power and excursion when crossed @ 400hz, however I have never heard this driver so there may be better choices. This is in a 2l sealed chamber.with a 2nd order high pass @400 hz

Name:	RS150P8A EXC.PNG
Size:	319.3 KB
ID:	1384184

Here is where I am getting out of my element. My first time doing a complex 3-way passive crossover and my first time using Xsim. There is a lot I don't know. My main concern with this is the low impedance of about 3.75 ohm in the middle. I was using a 4 ohm mid and tweet. I worked on those for about a week and I couldn't get the load up above 2.5 ohms in the pass band so I went to 8 ohms on them and I got it up to about 3.75. I thought of going to a different 8 ohm woofer but to be honest the 390 is pretty impressive in a smallish sealed box for a 15 and I didn't want to give up on it. But then I my be out to lunch on the crossover.

Name:	X-OVER 6.PNG
Size:	480.7 KB
ID:	1384185