Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! Impedance Measurement Issue

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to this all and have run into a bump in the road. I'm attempting to measure the impedance response of the ND16FA-6 to be used in my first crossover. I followed the excellent stickied how-to guide and am able to get measurements with both ARTA and REW. On multiple tweeers the impedance looks reasonable, with the hump close enough to the Dayton specs that Fs seems to be correct. The thing is, the phase seems to be off by about +30 degrees. I'm using a Behringer UCA202 and two non-inductive 47-ohm resistors in series in my jig and ran the calibration in ARTA successfully.

Since I see similar results with multiple tweeters in both REW and ARTA, I'm guessing this is either an issue with my jig or an issue with the UCA202. I've attached a screenshot of ARTA showing what I mean. The shape of the phase plot is what I'd generally expect, but it seems that the whole thing is somehow shifted upwards. Anyone have any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

This is for an XT25tg30. As far as the rising impedance starting around ~100hz, I also got that using the Behringer uca222 with ARTA and REW. I used a 100ohm in the jig. AFAIK it's due to too the uca222 being too noisy.

Click image for larger version

Name:	rise imp.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	1384617

Dats looked like this.

Name:	dat imp.JPG
Size:	113.2 KB
ID:	1384618
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...khanspires-but
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...pico-neo-build
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...ensation-build

Comment

I just ran it on the nd105-4 and the graphs almost matched the graphs from the spec sheet exactly. For some reason the phase still runs way high above 2k but below that both phase and magnitude look good. Maybe it is just the Berhinger having issues with phase in higher frequencies...

Comment

Name:	ND105-4in2010.jpg
Size:	208.2 KB