Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Port Resonance - what should I be looking for?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Port Resonance - what should I be looking for?

I am trying to model the ND64-4 and ND64-16 in very small ported boxes, 0.015 and 0.02 cu ft. in WinISD.
    (I realize I will likely have to do a small slot port, as a round port isn't going to fit in the box.)
    I am new to modeling and am looking at SPL, cone excursion, and port velocity (which I'm keeping below 25m/s).
    However, I have never looked at 1st port resonance, because I don't know what I would be looking for. I found a little about subwoofers, but these are full-range and will probably play up to 10khz or so.

So, what should I be targeting and worried about?

Port resonances can be dealt with by partially filling the enclosure and/or port. The more fill, the better the port resonances are dealt with but the more the bass tends to just become that of a sealed enclosure. The shorter the port, the higher the port resonance and the more effectively fill will deal with the resonance. Therefore there becomes a trade off between the size of the port to minimise port velocity and maximise the port resonance.

http://sound.whsites.net/articles/boxstuff.htm

Comment

Originally posted by a4eaudio View Post
      I am trying to model the ND64-4 and ND64-16 in very small ported boxes, 0.015 and 0.02 cu ft. in WinISD.
      (I realize I will likely have to do a small slot port, as a round port isn't going to fit in the box.)
      I am new to modeling and am looking at SPL, cone excursion, and port velocity (which I'm keeping below 25m/s).
      However, I have never looked at 1st port resonance, because I don't know what I would be looking for. I found a little about subwoofers, but these are full-range and will probably play up to 10khz or so.

So, what should I be targeting and worried about?
      The first pipe resonance will occur at F1=c/(2*L+0.8*d)

Where