"Golden Unicorns" - Low Profile, On-Wall, 2.1 System

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Golden Unicorns" - Low Profile, On-Wall, 2.1 System

Hello all! This is my very first post so it's going to be long and convoluted. I'll certainly write a bunch of gibberish (like this intro) and ask a lot of stupid questions, but here we go!

I'm new to the DIY speaker world, though I've been trolling these sites for years. A quick look into the lack of experience I have (I'll try anything once) goes like this:

A million years ago, I replaced blown out drivers on an ancient pair of Sony towers and thought that the Dayton DA135-8 woofers were nice looking and well priced. The resulting sound from the towers was much richer and handled the increased power output of my new receiver quite happily. A few years went by with us (wife and I) loving the speakers. We moved out of our condo and into a house and my wife decided that she hated the look of the towers and they would never make it into our new living room. So, they moved into the attic. I then set out to design something more 'modern' looking and tried to re-purpose the woofer in a funky open-baffle design with some Alucobond (aluminum-acrylic sandwich).

Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenBaffle.png
Views:	1
Size:	441.5 KB
ID:	1386965

Basic design principals of open-baffle speakers thrown right out the door. The skinny baffle radiates nothing in the way of sound, but it is SUPER clean looking. I wished that it sounded remotely decent (yes I know that I am missing a bunch of high-frequency drivers in this design). I just took that photo after grabbing the 1 speaker I ever made from of the garage so, yeah, it's been a dead project for several years.