Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choosing drivers for studio monitor build

Hello

I am looking to build some studio monitors as my first serious speaker project. I have seen the hitmaker MT project, but am very interested in designing some cabinets for fun. I am going to do an active biamped system, building my own amps (I am an electronics engineer by trade).

The drivers that I have initially selected are
    https://www.parts-express.com/pedocs...4ft-manual.pdf
    https://www.parts-express.com/pedocs...ifications.pdf

My primary motivations are a relatively flat response (50hz to 20khz), low driver dynamic compression, and low distortion (especially for the tweeter). I am planning on building a ported cab, and dont have any particular size restrictions for these cabinets. I would like to keep the woofers to under 6.5inches, but am open to other options, even though they will not fit on my desk as nicely. :D I am generally sitting in a 2ft window, so off axis response is not as important to me, as these are nearfields. Does anyone have any experience with these drivers, and have feedback or recommendations for other drivers to look at? I would like to keep the drivers to under 500$ for the pair, but I am open to more exotic options, for a point of reference.

Thanks!

Oh, and I have been reading these articles to help learn, any other recommendations along this line would be mucho appreciated. :D

https://www.audioxpress.com/assets/u...polito2959.pdf

http://ampslab.com/blog/wp-content/u...udspeakers.pdf

Comment

A really good book is "SpeakerBuilding 201" by Ray Alden.
      You can model boxes using WinISD ("Pro" version is more capable) from www.linearteam.org .
      Looks like a 0.6cf box tuned to the upper 30s should have an F3 near 40Hz.

Comment

Originally posted by Chris Roemer View Post
        A really good book is "SpeakerBuilding 201" by Ray Alden.