Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drivers for Basic 2-Way Speaker Build - Am I on the Right Track?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drivers for Basic 2-Way Speaker Build - Am I on the Right Track?

Hello All,

I have read just enough to be dangerous concerning speakers & such. I'm not trying to build an audiophile's wet dream, just a pair of basic 2-way speakers for my garage that will meet the following criteria:

* 4-ohm. I'll be driving them from a car stereo head unit, so looking at a realistic 15-20W RMS maximum. Need good efficiency due to low power amplifier.

* Simple, compact box design. I'm a capable woodworker but don't want to spend the next year on this and have limited space in my garage. Need to keep boxes under 1 ft^3.

* Good clarity and definition with punchy bass and as much low bass extension as I can get. I don't expect to shake stuff off the walls with these, just want them to be accurate and easy to listen to. Again, not looking to blow anyone's minds with sound quality but want them to sound good enough to justify the $ and time I'll put into building them. The drivers I've chosen are fine with me as far as cost but of course, if I can get better results for less $ then I'm VERY open to suggestions.

So now that you know the parameters, here are two options I've chosen based on what's available here at Parts Express:

Option 1:
    (Part # 292-570) Visaton W200S-4 8" Woofer with Treated Paper Cone 4 Ohm
    +
    (Part # 292-554) Visaton DT94-4 0.8" Polycarbonate Dome Tweeter 4 Ohm

Crossed over at either 2500 or 3000 using the Dayton Audio crossovers.