Way off topic truck issue

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Way off topic truck issue

I know there are a lot of car guys here.
    So I was driving home in the snow and the rear end on my sierra slid out and caught a curb pretty hard. For some reason this has caused my brakes to not work correctly. The pedal almost goes to the floor before the brakes kick in. It almost feels like the power brakes aren't kicking in. I tried disabling abs but it didn't have any affect. The brakes worked perfectly fine until I hit the curb.
    Also I did check the fluid and it is fine so I didn't bust a line. Could this be caused by a sensor?
    Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I'm no expert for sure, but I'd check, or look for information about the proportioning valve, and see if there is a mechanism that can move, and alter the pressure to the front vs rear brakes.

They make a pressure gauge that can be connected to measure the pressure at the brake cylinder at each wheel. That may be a way to track down the problem.

Look at the brake caliper, and see if it might have cracked, which would prevent it from applying force to the discs.

Comment

ABS/Traction only interrupts the base brake system when there is a ABS/Trac event, otherwise the base brake system is passed thru the ABS Module without any change. Your problem is with the base brake system. Most likely a ruptured Caliper seal (w/disk) or a Wheel Cylinder (w/drum) or broken parts that are not anchored. There may (eventually) be brake fluid evident around the inside of that wheel.
      If you wacked it that hard, the wheel may be bent and/or the axle shaft as well. (you might feel the back end shimmy side-to-side especially when turning)

Comment

My abs in my car didn't work for years. Didn't effect normal driving. I actually removed the system.

If pedal goes to floor, you have a leak. If there is no obvious leakage in lines, calipers, then check master cylinder.