Need Help with Scott Sehlin's Lithium Build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help with Scott Sehlin's Lithium Build

(First: I'm new to speaker building/design)

I'm in the midst of building Scott's Lithium Speakers.

It's a small speaker and the way I'm currently building the cabinets, I'll only get one try to build the crossover before its permanently glued/fixed in the cabinet.

So I built the cabinets, double taped the baffle to the enclosure, fished the speaker wires through the port so I can attempt some measurements and external crossover build/test.

Generally, my response is similar to Scott's measurements (included below) from say 300hz at up.

Scott's:

Click image for larger version  Name:	Scott's Measurements.JPG Views:	2 Size:	87.8 KB ID:	1400224

However, I have a MASSIVE bump in my response from 300hz down - and I can't for the life of me figured out why.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	image_77447.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	166.2 KB
ID:	1400225

Assuming I had messed up in my measurements, I've tried doing the following:
    1) Tooks ND105-4 measurements from Parts Express Website
    - The measurements show a rising low-end response
    2) I modeled low-end response using Jeff Bagby's Frequency Response Modeler
    - The Response Modeler indicated a 1db bump between 100hz to 200hz (due to a small cabinet)
    3) I merged 1 and 2 above and adjusted for diffraction (again using the spreadsheet above).
    4) I then simulated Scott's crossover with the above measurements and - surprisingly - the simulation exactly matched my measured response.

My next step was to see what the transfer function looks like - I've included that as well.

Click image for larger version  Name:	Transfer Function.JPG Views:	1 Size:	128.6 KB ID:	1400222
    Click image for larger version

Name:	image_77451.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	151.3 KB
ID:	1400223