Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will a passive radiator work with a full range driver (that has a whizzer cone)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will a passive radiator work with a full range driver (that has a whizzer cone)?

Does it make any sense to use a passive radiator with a full range speaker (that has a whizzer cone)?

Lino

A passive radiator is, for all technical purposes, nothing but a port. If the speaker works well in a ported box, it will work fine with a passive radiator as well.
    Electronics engineer, woofer enthusiast, and musician.
    Wogg Music
    Published projects: PPA100 Bass Guitar Amp, ISO El-Cheapo Sub, Indy 8 2.1 powered sub, MicroSat, SuperNova Minimus

Comment

Even despite the fact that it would lose its air seal? I would think that it would lose a substantial amount of power. BUT I am just a simple noob

Comment

Not sure I follow you about the air seal?

Comment

If you mean that the radiatior just flops around this is true, but you tune it with weight to resonate at a specific frequency to actually add to the low end, not losing it.

What is the full range driver and passive radiator you are considering? Not all drivers are made to work in a passive radiator / ported (bass reflex) enclosure.

Comment

When using a driver with a whizzer cone air is able to enter/ escape the cabinet around the whizzer cone, yes? If it is easier for air to enter/ escape the cabinet than drive the PR then the PR would move significantly less than in a cabinet that is completely airtight, yes?

Off the tip top of my head:
            Driver: Dayton Audio RS-100-4
            PR: Dayton Audio ND105

Comment

A whizzer cone would have nothing to do with it. If the driver had a sealed dust cap and a whizzer cone no air would exit the gap. If it was a phase plug, some air would be able to move but it would not affect tuning at all, so no need to worry about it.