Announcement

Collapse

Midwest Audio Fest

It’s that time audio enthusiasts! Registration for the 2019 Speaker Design Competition is now open! Visit midwestaudiofest.com for details and to list your speaker project. We are excited to see all returning participants, and look forward to meeting some new designers this year, as well! Be sure your plans include a visit to the Parts Express Tent Sale for the lowest prices of the year, and the Audio Swap Meet where you can buy and trade with other audio fans. We hope to see you this summer! Vivian and Jill
See more
See less

Crossover beginner needs help!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crossover beginner needs help!

Hello,

I am new to crossover design and I need help!
    I tried to design a 2 way crossover for the "Dayton Audio DSA215-8 8" Designer Series Aluminum Cone Woofer"
    and the "
    Dayton Audio AMT2-4 Air Motion Transformer Tweeter 4 Ohm" in the free software VituixCad without much luck..
    I am a total beginner and I dont know what I am doing. Could someone please help me out? I attached a picture with my current mess :D
    (sorry for bad english , don't judge me thanks :D)

Click image for larger version

Name:	crossover help.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	1406352

The first thing to understand is what data you are using. Garbage in / out applies. If you are using manufacturer supplied FR and impedance (ZMA) files, then you should "adjust" these to meet your intended baffle shape / size and placement. Basically - the frequency response is affected by the baffle.

Unless you have a very large (infinite baffle) - aka wall mounting, a speaker box has what is called "baffle step". This is where high frequencies (> 1000Hz) are higher SPL than lower frequencies by about 6dB. You might see this as a gradual rise in repsonse on a woofer from 100Hz up to 1000 Hz. You need to take this into account so your speaker doesn't sound bass weak.