Design Help: UM10-22

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Design Help: UM10-22

I don't understand the modeling software, so I'm looking for design help.

Looking to build a custom cabinet for the UM10-22. Limited on certain dimensions, have to pass the 'approval factor' and squeeze it next the the couch. Was thinking about a rack-mount amp like the Crown XLS 1002 or similar to power it. Dimensions need to stay close to 12" wide x 17" high x 2' deep. I wanted to set this up for home theater and music. I'm a woodworker and have already completed a custom sub build, here, loved the outcome.

Any help is appreciated, I will post pics too!
    Want a second or third opinion about your speaker cabinet design or other audio related problem? Post your question or comment on the Technical Discussion Board. Hundreds of technicians, engineers, and hobbyists, nationwide read and discuss electronics related questions each week. We welcome your participation

Have you tried using WinISD? I'm no scientist, yet I think I'm almost useful at it.

Assuming 3/4" material, you'd have internal dimensions of about two cubic feet, a bit larger than the suggested. Find out the displacement of the driver, then decide how much bracing you want. With a volume of 1.6 cu ft I tuned the box to 23hz and got an f3 of 20hz. Used a 2 x 8" slot port to make sure vent air velocity was under 20 meters/second at half RMS.

For my last sub build I used sketchup and an online calc for the dimensions/port situating.

A sample file with your sub from WinISD:
    MediaFire is a simple to use free service that lets you put all your photos, documents, music, and video in a single place so you can access them anywhere and share them everywhere.

Comment

Dang, you called me out. I'm a geologist......