SAM16 aka The Double D's

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SAM16 aka The Double D's

I am presenting here a design I built a year ago called the SAM16, which stands for Synthetic Aperture Midrange, with 16 midranges. I used to work in the field of Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) a few decades ago, where a large radar antenna was synthesized by moving a small antenna along a path. This speaker synthesizes a large midrange from 16 small ones. It can also be thought of as a cross between Coax, MTM, and Line array topologies. I also call them the "Double D's". Not those double D's, but in honor of Mr. D'Appolito, since it is a form of MTM in both the vertical and horizonal directions.

The center tweeter is an AMTPRO4, with foam wedges cut from an acoustic tile in an effort to limit it's horizontal dispersion. The mids are Peerless TC9FD18-08, for which I have to thank Zaph for pointing out their qualities. They have a vertical spacing of 3.7" c-c, which corresponds to 1/2 wavelength at 1830 Hz. The total Sd of the mids is 580 cm^2, which is larger than a typical 12" driver.

When I designed this, I was planning on an XO of about 1600 Hz, but after listening I have settled on 2.0 kHz, LR4. The AMTPRO4 sounds better when crossed this high, IMHO. This mid-high box sits on top of a woofer box, which is currently a narrower box containing two Focal 7K415, which is a carry-over from my previous system. I have never gotten around to building a matching woofer base cabinet with larger woofers. The mid-high box is approx 21" W x 31" H, and made from baltic birch plywood. It has 3" radius corners, and is trapezoidal shape when viewed from the top. Internally there are 5 compartments, 4 for the mids and one for the AMT. I had intended to cover it with veneer but never got there (my wife's health has necessitated me spending much time caring for her in the last year). Lower XO is at 330 Hz, LR4. I use a digital processor for Crossover and EQ.