Announcement

Collapse

Midwest Audio Fest

It’s that time audio enthusiasts! Registration for the 2019 Speaker Design Competition is now open! Visit midwestaudiofest.com for details and to list your speaker project. We are excited to see all returning participants, and look forward to meeting some new designers this year, as well! Be sure your plans include a visit to the Parts Express Tent Sale for the lowest prices of the year, and the Audio Swap Meet where you can buy and trade with other audio fans. We hope to see you this summer! Vivian and Jill
See more
See less

How can I connect subwoofer BIC F12?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I connect subwoofer BIC F12?

Hi everyone, I'm not an audio expert so here I am asking for help.
    I'm interested in taking this subwoofer, BIC America F12, to replace I have at the moment.

My sub is part of the system Logitech z906 but I don't find it powerful enough to shake my room (I use my sub mostly for music) and so I want to change it.
    The problem is that I don't want to change the 5 speakers because even if the sub is not that good I find the speakers good enough.

I wonder if there's any way to connect my 5 speakers and the new sub to an external receiver, and if so, which receiver would you recommend?

Or maybe I can connect some of the speakers (not all of them) on the back of this sub, do you think it will work?

What would you suggest to do?

It appears that the amps for your front, center, surround and sub speakers are all in the subwoofer cabinet and I don't see a separate output for an external sub .Not sure how you could get around that ..

Comment

^^^
      That will be the main problem. I think you'll find the electronics the limiting factor if you try to drive a better woofer. You'd have to:
      • Use the internal amp for a new passive woofer, which will likely be too weak to impress you.