Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tarkus DIY Build Need More Technical Information

Hello Guys,

I am sure you hate new write ups from new members but I am new to DIY and have only built the Amiga Towers and one of Troels' designs the 3WC Bookshelf, so I thought Ill introduce myself. I tend to spend most of my time on Ethan Winer's forum and keen to join this one.

I have always been interested in a large affordable 3 way speaker. My 3WC is a midsize bookshelf with 22W/8534G00 12W/8524G00 D2608/913000 Scanspeak drivers. Although, there slightly above average drivers and the Tarkus uses drivers which are less expensive, I am really keen on a mid woofer that is at least 6 inches and still potentially getting an upgrade.

Also, I have been fascinated why Greek music always sounded better in my Toyota Camry car sound system(Glass reflections could also have something to do with it as well) and according to Paul Carmody's write up on the Tarkus it seems paper cones sound better for guitar. So that Bouzukia probably needs a paper cone according to Paul.

I have 2 12inch sub woofers with the Dayton DC305 driver in a sealed compartment with about .7 QTC and its hooked up with a Marchand XM66 variable crossover, this turns my sound system into something else can not do without it even when playing the 3WC with its 8 inch woofer.

I am happy for any other recommendations but if I can get some answers to some of the questions below it will help me decide if the Tarkus is my best option.

1. I am not into expensive audio hype but curious if the chosen drivers for the Tarkus are really a downgrade from the 3WC Bookshelf? I mean are they really entry level drivers that might be not be good enough considering I have built two descent DIY speakers previously?