Announcement

Collapse

Midwest Audio Fest

It’s that time audio enthusiasts! Registration for the 2019 Speaker Design Competition is now open! Visit midwestaudiofest.com for details and to list your speaker project. We are excited to see all returning participants, and look forward to meeting some new designers this year, as well! Be sure your plans include a visit to the Parts Express Tent Sale for the lowest prices of the year, and the Audio Swap Meet where you can buy and trade with other audio fans. We hope to see you this summer! Vivian and Jill
See more
See less

Klipsch Forte clone?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Klipsch Forte clone?

Hi,

this is my first post here. I'm a pretty good woodworker with a full wood shop. Ive been torn between buying a set of old school big horn speakers or building them. I truly like the design of the Klipsch Forte model with the following specs:

cabinet 36 X 16.5 X 13

12 inch woofer
    15 inch passive radiator on back
    1 inch compression horn tweeter
    1.75 inch compression horn midrange
    99 db sensitivity @2.33
    38 - 20 khz
    5.2 kHz tweeter crossover
    650 hz midrange crossover

I am planning on using these with vacuum tube amplifiers so I need the sensitivity, that's the number one priority.

can I get some random thoughts from other builders here on parts, designing the crossover, what kind of sensitivity I can expect or if I can even do better than 99 db, etc. should I abandon the passive radiator and vent the cabinet? Basically anything that might help me build such a speaker. I may even be able to use better parts than Klipsch, part suggestions would be great too.