Help - Goodwill cabinets need a new design

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - Goodwill cabinets need a new design

Hi there...I am a novice. I have built a couple of speaker kits, but in truth I am just lost when it comes to speaker design. So, I bought these two awesome speaker cabinets at goodwill the other day. They are circa 1960 solid maple octagon end tables (yes, they are actual end tables), with an 8" woofer and a horn tweeter. The cabinet is about 2' diameter, and 30" tall. They sound TERRIBLE. But really, the cabinets are what I wanted, and now I need to figure out how to make them sound good. There is no bottom on the cabinet, but I can fix that. My budget is going to be about $200 for the set, but that is, well...you know. I would really like to use a pre-built crossover, but I can solder if I have to. My amp is a Dayton Audio APA150. I would appreciate ANY help.

Some photos would be helpful, please.

Thanks

Geoff

Comment

My first thought was the dayton 8 MTM. I did not verify the accuracy of this link https://www.hometheatershack.com/for...mtm-rocks.html

Chris R may have a better link
      John H

Synergy Horn, SLS-85, BMR-3L, Mini-TL, BR-2, Titan OB, B452, Udique, Vultus, Latus1, Seriatim, Aperivox,Pencil Tower

Comment

Yes, pics (and some actual dims) will be required.
        Those SEEM like they might be about 7cu.ft. each (around TWICE the volume needed for the "Dayton 8s"). Could you run a divider up in there to make two halves?

Comment

It might have finished, but four of PE's Deal of the Day - Peerless SDS 160PRO 6.5" woofers - could be combined with a cheap VIFA or Peerless tweeter for something interesting with a driver cost of under US$100.

The woofers need around 1 cu ft each if vented.

I used the Peerless and the BC25TG in a two way floor standing speaker (an existing DIY design but I tweaked the crossover with help from PETT members) and thought it was nice for the $$.

Geoff

Comment