Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First speaker build : The Continuum - need help! Several questions

Hi Everyone!

After years of dreaming about it, I'm finally stepping in to build my first speaker - Jeff Bagby's Continuums! I'm super excited, and equally nervous. First, thanks to Mr. Bagby for designing this speaker and allowing us to build it! I've only ever heard great things about it, though I haven't heard them in person.

Considering this is my first build, and I have no experience, what should I know before I press the buy button on Meniscus? What other tools (even basics) would I need (assuming I have nothing at all), so I can start planning? I'm planning to use the woodshop at a hackerspace, and they have a CNC. (It's going to be a long, slow learning experience after work and on weekends)

Here's what I'm thinking so far: wire strippers, wood glue, hot glue gun, masking tape, stuffing (?), some perforated board to mount crossover, actual MDF/plywood (not getting into finishing just yet), screws, screwdrivers, drill, amplifier to test. Am I missing something?

I was also looking at the possibility of using these https://www.ebay.com/itm/Pair-Speake....c100005.m1851 cabinets, assuming they're a similar size. i can probably request different driver cutout radii. Would that work as well as building my own? Because they do look really good! Would I be able to rear mount the driver on to those? Or do I have to front mount and possibly screw up the sound?

Ideally I'd love to just use CNC to make flat-pack styles, and assemble using MDF. But I'm not sure how complex the design is on the inside. Maybe I'l find out after purchasing the kit?

Thanks!

Firstly, welcome to the hobby and good luck with your project.

I haven't built these, but I've built four pairs of speakers and three pairs of cabinets, so I hope my experience will be at least useful.