2004 Mazdaspeed Miata Stereo Upgrade Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2004 Mazdaspeed Miata Stereo Upgrade Questions

Get ready, this is a long post...well, more like a fact finding mission. Bear with me!!

I am new to "building" custom stereos for automotive applications. I have plenty of experience buying products off the shelf/online and installing them, and proficient in most aspects of automotive work in general. What I lack is any real knowledge of audiophile information. Here are my questions.

My situation is a bit tricky, as I have a 2004 Mazdaspeed Miata I just picked up in June this year. I am now looking at replacing the utterly trashed Bose stock speakers/stereo. It has the integrated Bose amp that runs 6 speakers:

2x lower door woofers, apparently they are rated at 0.5ohm, and they fill the nice sized 8" hole, perfectly round, with standard 4x mounting holes.
    2x windblocker speakers, small, like maybe 2 inches. I believe 4ohm, with some ridiculous crossover setting, so it basically is inaudible.
    2x upper door tweeters, 1 is MIA and the other is crispy toast. Rated at 4 ohm.

For the time being, i'd like to retain the factory amp and run my trusty Pioneer head unit with upgraded speakers. Eventually, down the line, I am going to perform a complete "Bosectomy", by removing every component installed from factory (including the speaker wire) and starting over completely with replacing the head unit, all associated wiring, a dedicated 4 channel small-footprint amp, all 6 speakers and crossovers. For now, it's more or less a new head unit, new speakers and I'd like to keep costs as low as possible, as this car has sucked over $6,000 in cash since purchase on parts and tools needed (I do all the work on this car myself).