Round overs, chamfers and router bits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Round overs, chamfers and router bits

I am pretty new to wood working and have some basic router bit questions.

I typically use baltic birch but I have not been doing any sort of edge treatment so I want to incorporate this.

Depending on what I am building I may use 3/8, 1/2 or 3/4 material and I am unsure of which size of chamfer and or round over bits are correct for each thickness of wood.

Is there a rule of thumb on this?

I don't know that there are any "correct" sized bits other than the chamfer or roundover can't exceed the thickness of the material and result in unintended cutting into it. I usually round over or chamfer just a bit less than the thickness of the wood, based mostly on the "look" I'm after.
    Paul

Originally posted by stephenmarklay View Post
    I am pretty new to wood working and have some basic router bit questions.

I typically use baltic birch but I have not been doing any sort of edge treatment so I want to incorporate this.

Depending on what I am building I may use 3/8, 1/2 or 3/4 material and I am unsure of which size of chamfer and or round over bits are correct for each thickness of wood.

Is there a rule of thumb on this?

Comment

I agree with Paul, and also that it's correct only if you say it's correct. While it's true that there are some rules and guidelines for safely and efficiently using router bit it basically comes down to whether or not you like the results you're getting. If you ask 50 Woodworkers what's the correct way to use a router bit you'll get 50 different answers. If you're new to Woodworking and want to help visualize the variety Edge treatments that your router is capable of I would make a bunch of small samples on scrap wood of different size thickness Woods with different size and depth round overs and chamfers.

Comment

Thank you both! That is a big help.

Comment