Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Woofer vs Subwoofer; whats the difference? (Dayton DC2508 vs SD270A88)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woofer vs Subwoofer; whats the difference? (Dayton DC2508 vs SD270A88)

Hello,

I am pretty new to DIY speaker build and having a tough time understanding what is difference between 10" woofer vs subwoofer from same company with similar specs. How does one choose one or the other? I understand that subwoofer is meant for lower frequencies than woofer. If you see the parameters and frequency response both look pretty same. What parameter or property sets the subwoofer apart from the woofer?

Table below is a comparison of the parameters. I am surprised that woofer has lower Fs than subwoofer. If so, why use a subwoofer? The rated power is also quite similar.
    Apart from Le and Xmax the parameters are pretty same. I expected subwoofer to have more of Xmax but it is only 1.5mm greater than woofer. which is 33% greater. Is that the only significant difference between subwoofer and woofer? In layman terms subwoofer can handle more power output at lowest frequencies than woofer.

Then why not just use subwoofer in place of woofer (frequency response up to 1KHz seems to be same)?

What am I missing? I assume there is some tradeoff/optimization being made, I just want to understand what that is. Thanks in advance.

Subwoofer Woofer
    SD270A88 10" DC2508 10"
    Impedance 4 ohms 8 ohms
    Re 3.16 ohms 6.6 ohms
    Le 1.12 mH 2.63 mH @ 1 kHz
    Fs 26.2 Hz 24.9 Hz
    Qms 3.23 3.16
    Qes 0.5 0.44
    Qts 0.43 0.38
    Mms 57.70 g 67.5g
    Cms 0.64 mm/N 0.61 mm/N
    Sd 346.4 cm² 343.1 cm²
    Vd 207.8 cm³ 154.4 cm³
    BL 7.80 Tm 12.64 Tm
    Vas 107.5 liters 104 liters
    Xmax 6.0 mm 4.5 mm
    VC Diameter 38.5 mm 35 mm
    SPL 87.8 dB @ 1W/1m 88.4 dB @ 2.83V/1m
    RMS Power Handling 80 watts 70 watts
    Usable Frequency Range (Hz) 26 2,000 Hz 25 2,500 Hz